Gardening Tips that I have picked up along the way!

tuckedawaycottage

I am still getting into the groove in my garden and have yet to start my vegetable garden, but over the last year here are a few tips that I have learned and really work!

“Don’t be afraid of moving plants around, if they don’t work, or if you don’t like them in a certain spot – move it! Most of my plants think they have wheels…” – Hillary from Tucked Away House, Grassington in Yorkshire Dales. Hillary really had a fab English country garden, see picture above. She gave great advice and really got me interested in raised beds and different bee friendly plants.

“Your garden should have different, interesting places to relax and unwind” – I cannot remember the website that I read this from, but it really helped when we were designing our garden. We wanted to maximize the sun that arrived in a few spots from morning to evening, front and back of our house. So we created paved and stoned areas so we can put up a small two-seater table for breakfast time sun, a bench for relaxing in the mid day sun and a dinning table and chairs for dinner time.

“Things want to grow” and “I kept an eye out and learned through trial and error.” – Joanna Madden, Lady of the Manor at Hilton Park, Clones, Co Monaghan. Taken from an interview in IMAGE magazine’s September 2013 issue page 169. Β What good advice, things do want to grow and all you have to do is keep an eye out!

Happy gardening, I hope you all get those green fingers dirty!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Gardening Tips that I have picked up along the way!

  1. Thanks for sharing those tips, I really like the first one about moving plants about. I don’t tend to do this but really should – just because it doesn’t work in one spot doesn’t mean to say it won’t in another! πŸ™‚

    1. I hear you Sophie, and yes get that spade out and get those plants moving! Just ensure you take a big enough chunk of soil containing the roots so you don’t disturb the plant too much! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

