Phone Directories – Why waste the tree please opt out today!

photo (41)

Yes I was hyperventilating this week, when I received my very large pack of items that I will NEVER use – the phone directory for my area and the golden pages. Tightly packed into plastic to keep the thousands that are dropped outside homes and might never even make it in the door. The packs also contain needless amounts of advertising – No I don’t want a new car insurance policy or SKY – I already have both and I can sort myself out thanks!!

But, then behind an advert lay a “Very Important” letter. Yes it actually was important as it contained the information needed to ‘opt out’ and no longer receive this useless piece of information. I would have thought it made more sense to send just one letter to each home in Ireland stating you have to opt in to receive a directory or even collect one from your local post office. I know the majority of people who will still rely on a directory will be the over 60’s and I appreciate that, but even then most 60 year old’s I know can use the computer aptly.

So I thought I would get going in my opt outed-ness and I logged onto www.phonebookoptout.ie. I thought it would be as simple as entering my address but no I had to create an account!!! So I did and it really wasn’t that bad I just kept thinking of the tree’s I would be saving.

Also apparently the reason we all receive a phone directory is to do with a European Communities Regulation 2003 to do with the Electronic Communications Networks and Services – bizarre to say the least?!

6 thoughts on “Phone Directories – Why waste the tree please opt out today!

  1. I opted out years ago, every time they were unceremoniously dumped outside my door a bunch of kids or teenagers with nothing better to do would grab them and tear the pages out before throwing them all across the street, many of them folded into air planes so I opted out after that…..I’ve seen the same thing done outside a shopping centre with Argos catalogues, I don’t know why Argos insist on stopping cars going into the shopping centre and handing out Argos catalogues.

Leave a Reply

