the secret of kells

I never knew this film existed – can you imagine the crime of not knowing about this amazing Irish produced film! It was nominated for an Academy Award in 2010 and won a heap of acclaim – it truly deserves all the praise as it is EXCELLENT in every way. It’s the type of animation movie that makes those who aren’t Irish try find some relation who is, well, Irish!

There is an Earth message in the movie, which makes me love it all the more. The forests are heaving with life. Brendan looks for special berries to make the ink to paint the book of Kells.  Aisling, without giving too much away, has magic – “I have lived through many ages, I have seen suffering in the darkness, yet, I have seen beauty thrive in the most fragile of places” The same sentiment can be applied to today’s world…

You can watch the Official trailer here. 

You can buy the DVD here.

You can listen to the music from the soundtrack here.

Well done to the guys in Cartoon Saloon in Kilkenny – The Secret of Kells makes me proud of our nations Celtic Roots.

And best of all just enjoy the masterpiece…