clothnappies

When I became pregnant on my first baby over 4 years ago now – without hesitation I decided I wanted to use cloth nappies! At the time I was living in a basement apartment that didn’t have great washing line facilities and I knew one of the main things for cloth nappies was the benefit of wind drying otherwise the benefits of using them in the first place would be greatly reduced if I had to go down the tumble drier route.

With statistics such as in the UK alone each year there are over 3 BILLION nappies ending up in ladfill taking between 50-100 years to breakdown – never decomposing just getting broken down into smaller bits! Scary thought isn’t it, and the length of time is longer when you wrap the nappies in non biodegradable plastic bags.

When I did go about having a look at cloth nappies I got a sample from a company called – Little Comfort – they made nappies from bamboo. All I can remember is the negative reactions from everyone that I suggested it to – it was so extraordinary that people had such an aversion to something so simple and environmentally friendly. Well I have made up my mind that if I have another, and please God I will,  I definitely will be using the cloth version without doubt – I have my washing line in place and even in the 4 years since I researched the quality and advancement in the cloth nappies has been amazing.

I am starting My Waste Free Home next Monday 1st of July where all my waste will be processed on-site/at my home sending nothing to landfill, using a Hot composter and a Pet Pooh Loo. For the mums who are interested in the concept of My Waste Free Home but would struggle with the problem of disposing of lots of dirty nappies on a weekly basis, cloth nappies would solve all of these problems. It may sound crazy but one of my favourite green companies in the world – TerraCycle actually have developed the method of recycling disposable nappies!! Check out more about it here.

Follow my blog and LIKE my Facebook page to follow what I am up to – Making it cool to care about the Environment!!

Useful Links:

http://www.realnappiesforlondon.org.uk/

http://www.thebabyplanners.co.uk/category/cloth-nappies

http://www.rollercoaster.ie/Discussions/tabid/119/ForumThread/141267651/Default.aspx