dutch bike

It is Bike Week, well we are nearly finished Bike week actually – In Ireland it began on Saturday 15th and will end Sunday 23rd of July. My blog on last years bike week was one of my first ever blog posts – Yay I am the proud mother of a 1 year old blog!! So my yearly report of bike week also marks my Blogbday, I couldn’t think of a better week to share it with. To cycle is such a positive experience on so many levels, physically, environmentally, financially, emotionally and socially. The one major negative is the safety aspect of cycling and in Ireland this is one of the major reasons why more people do not participate, but it is getting better. In my town in Co Wicklow we recently got a new cycle network which is brilliant. I used to cycle to work and bought my bike on the cycle to work scheme in Ireland – it is a tax break on your biking purchases and it has gone down a storm. My experience of cycling as a mode of transport was such a positive experience, I had muscles where I never knew I could πŸ™‚ I had to give up the bike and catch the bus when I became pregnant on my first child – I just wouldn’t take the chance. But, I do use my bike to run my dogs (it does the job in half the time) – I don’t use it as much as I want to, I always seem to have my daughter to bring along and I would be nervous on the main roads with a three year old in tow. BUT, if there was a cycle network Β in Ireland similar to other countries where cycling is one of the main forms of transport – I would 100% use my bike more and bring my daughter along with me.

From my research into this post I will definitely be looking into cycling in the Netherlands as a holiday option – amazing that there are cycling maps for the whole country!! Ireland, unfortunately is a long way off this, but we can live in hope, and I know the cycling community in Ireland are so passionate and forward thinking they just need the governments support.

But one thing in Ireland we are good at is sayings and one of these is “On your bike” Β – meaning get out of here!

Useful Links:

http://www.bikeweek.ie/

http://www.nederlandfietsland.nl/en/online-cycle-route-planner

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2007/07/the-new-suv-ame/