My feelings on recycle symbols are of sheer frustration and confusion that the manufacturing industry cannot get it together and use a UNIVERSAL CODE for RECYCLING. The way things are you would need a science degree to understand and follow the recycling symbols to maximise optimum recycling and efficiency. I have decided to do up some blogs explaining what each symbol means and to bring greater awareness to the items that MUST be checked with your bin company or local authority recycling centres before they can be recycled.

I am getting ready to start My Waste Free Home – where I will be sorting and processing all of my domestic waste on site so my waste bin will be but out to pasture! I want to do this to ensure all of my waste ends up in the best possible place and not in a landfill. I will also be making compost which can be reused in my garden. The recyclables will be recycled for free at my local authority recycling centre. If you would like to learn more and keep up to date with my progress and findings please Follow my blog and LIKE the Facebook page here.

The challenge for you all is to check the Recycling Symbols in the packaging whilst in the supermarket doing the weekly shop. You might be surprised at the amount of packaging that cannot be recycled but you put it into the recycling bin regardless.

thegreendot

The first Symbol that I want to highlight is The Green Dot.

The Green Dot logo merely indicates that a company has joined the Green Dot scheme, and not necessarily that the package is fully recyclable. The logo is often confused with the recycling logo.

The basic idea of the Green Dot is that consumers who see the logo know that the manufacturer of the product contributes to the cost of recovery and recycling. This can be with household waste collected by the authorities (e.g. in special bags – in Germany these are yellow), or in containers in public places such as car parks and outside supermarkets.

In simple terms, the system encourages manufacturers to cut down on packaging as this saves them the cost of licence fees.

Useful Links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Dot_(symbol)

http://www.recyclemore.ie/recycling_symbols

http://www.which.co.uk/home-and-garden/home-improvements/guides/your-essential-recycling-guide/recycling-symbols/