World Environment Day

Today is June 5th, World Environment Day 

“The theme for this year’s World Environment Day celebrations is Think.Eat.Save. Think.Eat.Save is an anti-food waste and food loss campaign that encourages you to reduce your foodprint. According to the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), every year 1.3 billion tonnes of food is wasted. This is equivalent to the same amount produced in the whole of sub-Saharan Africa. At the same time, 1 in every 7 people in the world go to bed hungry and more than 20,000 children under the age of 5 die daily from hunger. “

So today I am going to teach my family, like I do everyday, the importance of food and why we should NEVER take it for granted. It should be respected as a commodity just like gold. If you take a loaf of bread, the energy from the sun needed to nurish each grain of wheat, the nutrients from the soil that go into its glorious growth. The water, the human hands needed for production, the manufacturing, the distribution all for a slice of bread. Break it down and THINK about the energy and effort from the earth to produce FOOD. So why waste it so freely? Just because you have the money to buy as much bread as you wish should not be reason, it is actually harmful to teach our children that it is ok just because you can get more.

My attitude was always respectful towards food, this was given to me by my mum. If you didn’t eat what was on your plate then that was your lot, nothing was waisted in our house and we all had the knowledge of where food came from. It is simple to teach children about food production in ways that you would not think are meaningful but are little seeds that are planted in the minds of children. For me the following stand out the most from my childhood:

  • We had gooseberry bushes that needed to be picked each summer – we made jam and crumbles
  • We had chickens – I was in charge of the egg collection, we also ate one which was not as successful as my father hoped it would have been!!
  • We had a sea side summer house : blackberry picking was done, so was crab fishing and mackerel fishing in August. I still love nothing better than a freshly caught mackerel grilled with salt and pepper for breakfast, lunch or tea.
  • Rhubarb patch – crumbles and jelly
  • Spring onions for salads

Today if you feel the urge teach your children or yourself to break it down when thinking of everyday food. Respect it and enjoy it but never ever waste it.

I will be starting My Waste Free Home come July where I will be teaching the basics in dealing with ones own waste on their own land. One of the areas I will be documenting is food waste how it can be reduced and how to turn true leftovers into great compost using a hot composter. Check out the Facebook page and give it a like to keep in touch. It will be starting in my house on July 1st 2013 🙂

Happy World Environment Day XX