Green Image

Sam Marquit from NY contacted me to share some of his thoughts on Greener Practices. I always welcome guest bloggers, who like me love the earth and sustainability and want to share their views with my readers. I really enjoyed this piece and it makes me want to know more about Eco tourism and the types of questions I will be asking hotels before I book my reservation. Just think if we all ask questions regarding a hotels sustainability efforts then it will become more normalized and hotels will make a greater effort as this could win customers. Imagine if Β it came down to sustainability rather than the size of the pool for a hotel to win customers – I reckon they would all brush up on their acts!!

Biography : I am an entrepreneurial independent contractor and home renovation/remodeling expert in New York. I’ve made it a point to share my experiences of a day in the life of sustainable building. Forecasting the possible application and implementation of new green building materials and technologies is just one small part of my effort to reduce everyone’s carbon footprint.

Greener Practices for a Green World

Environmentally friendly construction and practices are growing more popular all the time. As a result, we are seeing more businesses and individuals being recognized for implementing them. As a contractor, I work with these companies regularly and am very interested in what they are doing. I think they deserve a lot more than just LEED certification when their projects fit the standard.

In New York City, the amazing ink48 Hotel is putting green standards into use in several departments. It also has a program known as Earthcare that allows members to meet and discuss new ways to go green. Another in particular seems to be head of the curve in terms of eco travel. Many hotels in Las Vegas are changing their practices to be more sustainable. One in particular is the Palazzo Resort and Hotel. This resort is reusing its waste so well that it was named “The Most Eco-Friendly Hotel in America.” The Palazzo also boasts water recycling systems and solar panels for heating. Even major hotel chains are catching on. The Marriott is saving 66 tons of plastic being thrown into landfills by using green keycards that are biodegradable and recyclable.

In other countries like Asia for example, have really great programs that recognize different organizations making an impact. Businesses in the tourism industry that use environmentally friendly methods, get involved in the community or aid in wildlife conservation can be a part of “The Wild Asia Responsible Tourism Awards.” In the United States, something similar is organized by the “People & Planet Awards.”

It is such a good thing to see people working to make their businesses sustainable. I do not just get to see it; I get to take part in building these businesses. With so many buildings going up all over the world, from hotels to office buildings, it is of the utmost importance that businesses keep up with advancements in green technology. It is also important to use these advancements wherever possible. Businesses that are on board, such as those mentioned here, provide an example for all future businesses to follow.