I firstly want to dedicate this to a friend and fellow Eco warrior Jen Gale of My Make Do and Mend Year. Jen you have posted about your laundry basket and its clinging to life state so I hope this blog post helps you out 🙂

I was always sick to death of repairing my plastic laundry basket, you know the type you cart around on your hip in and out of the washing line, the one that kids like to play boat in and the one that ALWAYS breaks!!

These plastic laundry baskets are reasonable to purchase although they can be pricy, my bone of contention is they will snap at some point and I always like to purchase an item that will last and will be easy to recycle or turn into something else (upcycle). My current laundry basket is held together with insulating tape and has reached its last legs and will need to be put out of its misery soon 😦

It is made from PP5 Plastic, also known as Polypropylene and is one of the most widely used plastics particularly for rigid items such as laundry baskets, yogurt cups and tubs, baby bowls etc. This type of plastic does not transmit chemicals into your food and is easy to recycle. Although you will need to check with your local council to ensure you can recycle these plastic types.

So for the time being I found found a replacement in the cupboard under the stars – its the Blue IKEA Reusable Bag. It is made of 100% Polypropylene (PP5) the same as my old laundry basket and can be recycled. But, it has a max load of 25kg!! Pretty good so it should support quite a lot of washing time and time again. The key reason I like this bag so much is it is not rigid so it will not break as easily as the rigid traditional laundry basket.

Other benefits include:

  1. Its soooooooo easy to store
  2. Better for your back, the two handle lengths make it easy to use
  3. Easy to clean just use soap and water
  4. It can be brought to the shops
  5. used in the garden to sit on or kneel on – waterproof
  6. so many other ways to use this bag but guess how much it costs €0.50/ £0.40 amazing value
  7. IKEA is also quite a good company to champion and support Sustainability check out more here.

This is my IKEA Bag in full use hanging with a Kitchen hook on the washing line holding a wash load of wet clothes. No more bending anything to make a job easier!!photo (12)

 

If you would like to receive my blog via email updates please subscribe bottom right of my page. My Twitter is #ClaireLOK check me out 🙂