I have been taking a class called Blogging Your Way 2.0 by the very talented Holly Becker and our final assignment is to write a blog – ‘What blogging means to you?’ So here goes…..

I have a very clear vision as an Earth Scientist and as director of an Environmentally Responsible Education & Lifestyle company called Claire Lewis Co. I want “to make it cool to care about the world  and to have fun doing it”

For years most people viewed environmental campaigners and activist as crusty tree huggers! This was because of societies sheer ignorance and the head in the sand technique – (that happens over the other side of the world and not where I live). People thought it wasn’t cool to care about our world but this is changing slowly but surely.

The world has welcomed a new breed of eco-euntrepuners. People like the founder of Terracycle, Tom Szaky  and founder of Feelgoodz, Kyle Berner. New faces that are campaigning for a greener way to do things and society is relating to the people behind the cause. Blogs are the new age environmentalist voice, giving us time to have a shower, groom and not look so crusty!! 🙂 We need this platform as we are up against many hurdles. Time. Multinationals – with vast budgets. Corruption. International Recession. etc.etc.

Multinationals spend millions on marketing products that we may not need but feel compelled to purchase anyway. Products that may or may not leave harmful affects on the environment one way or the other through manufacturing, materials etc. Blogging gives me a link to vast amounts of people who are in the mood to read something, I just hope it is my blog and message to change something small about their lives for the good of the world. Blogging makes it easy for me to give little environmentally responsible ideas and tips that come naturally to me but someone else might not think that way.

I have so many goals and they are all centered around the Claire Lewis Co mission to make it cool to care about the world and have fun doing it! The BYW 2.0 course has given me new ideas on marketing and enhancing my business which enables me to concentrate on my goals. I also want to work with the people in my field I respect  such as Tom Szaky and my blogging will help me get closer to releasing this.  Just like the earth the blogosphere is a very small place you never know who might just take the time to read your blog!

Do you hear that Tom, you may be reading over a bowl of Malt-O-Meal (the cereal which you made box less), it is a goal of mine to work with you.